United States Courts

Third Branch News

TTB Logo for Moblie

Site-wide Search

California Courthouses Named National Landmarks

Text Size

Text Size:

Current Size: 100%


Two federal courthouses in California—the James R. Browning U.S. Courthouse in San Francisco and the Spring Street Federal Courthouse in Los Angeles—have been designated national landmarks by the U.S. Department of Interior.

The Browning courthouse, which opened in 1905, is the administrative headquarters for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, serving nine states and two territories. The Spring Street courthouse in Los Angeles, was built between 1937 and 1940, and has been the location for a number of high-profile trials.

Read more about these historic courthouses.

Related Topics: